John 1:5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

First apologies for not having written much lately and more apologies because I’m not going to write much now. Things have been crazily busy, in a good way, over the past three months but am hoping that in the next few days or weeks I’ll have more time to sit down and write about some of the things I’ve had on my mind.

Today, however, I just want to share something. Communication in many of the countries in which we work is difficult. One of mine is notoriously difficult for geographical, political and technological reasons but much like the Biblical salt – I have a handful of trustworthy individuals scattered throughout the country who try, when they can, to pass on to me information about cases of persecution they know or hear about. Many of them have experienced the effects of worldwide solidarity in the form of prayer and letter writing themselves, and they know it works.

One of them has worked at various churches in different parts of the country but always seems to be assigned to fairly remote places, cut off from the rest of the country and even more so from the outside world. I don’t hear from him that often, but when I do, it’s usually a short message requesting urgent prayer or action. It always makes me think of a Hail Mary (non American Football people, click on the link for an explanation). He throws it out of there, I try not to fumble it and (the analogy stops here) pass it on to as many praying and acting people as I can.

I don’t usually expect much feedback because I know the limitations. Communication inside the country is also difficult to the point of being non-existent sometimes, so he doesn’t expect much feedback from those he’s tried to help either. The most severe cases tend to happen in very remote and rural areas, compounding the difficulty of following up.

So, imagine my surprise and joy, when yesterday I received this message:

Dear BV,

Last night there was a concert, authorized by the Government in the second largest theater in [the country]. The *** Theater.

It was truly historic.

But listen to this story…

A pastor approached me and asked me, “Are you ***? You don’t know me,” he said.

I didn’t recognize him even when he told me his name…

It turns out that years ago his church was threatened with demolition…I asked you for worldwide prayer for him…

We never met each other, not even on the telephone.

Seven years later, he testified to me that they never touched him again…

Hugs,

***

So today I give thanks for answered prayers. I give thanks that seven years ago I was able to be a little cog in the wheel that turned on behalf of this church. I give thanks for this pastor’s understanding of how the worldwide Body of Christ supported his church during their hour of need. I give thanks for his faithfulness in remembering and blessing that same Body, seven years later. I give thanks for our great God who loves us, strengthens us to love one another, and makes a way when there is no way.

